Home news Premiership: Worcester Warriors v London Irish

Premiership: Worcester Warriors v London Irish


Worcester Warriors forward GJ van Velze watches on during his side's defeat by Saracens in September 2017
Aviva Premiership
Venue: Sixways Stadium Date: Friday, 22 December Kick-off: 19:45 GMT
Coverage: Live commentary on BBC Radio 5 live sports extra, BBC Hereford & Worcester, BBC Radio Berkshire and on the BBC Sport website

Worcester make two changes from the side which lost to Sale in their last Premiership fixture on 1 December.

David Denton moves from number eight to blindside flanker, while GJ van Velze replaces Alafoti Faosiliva.

Australia hooker Saia Fainga’a makes his first Premiership start for London Irish, who make five other changes from their defeat by Gloucester.

Greig Tonks plays at full-back, while scrum-half Ben Meehan and forwards Ben Franks and Ofisa Treviranus also start.

James Marshall, who started at full-back in the Gloucester game, moves to fly-half alongside Meehan.

Referee Wayne Barnes will take charge of his 191st Premiership fixture, breaking the previous record held by Chris White.

London Irish cannot move off the foot of the table regardless of the result, but they can close within a point of Warriors with victory and a bonus point.

Worcester: Pennell; Heem, Willison, Mills, Adams; Lance, Hougaard; Waller, Singleton, Schonert, O’Callagahan (capt), Spencer, Denton, Lewis, van Velze.

Replacements: Taufete’e, Bower, Milasinovich, Barry, Faosiliva, Dowsett, Olver, Humphreys.

London Irish: Tonks; Cokanasiga, Mulchrone (capt), McLean, Lewington; Marshall, Meehan; Franks, Fainga’a, Du Plessis, van der Merwe, Paulo, Coman, Cowan, Treviranus.

Replacements: Woolstencroft, Reid, Chawatama, De Chaves, Northcote-Green, Steele, Bell, Tikoirotuma.

Source: BBC Here